Don’t forget – bin collection days change over Christmas

37 days ago

Residents in Carmarthenshire are being reminded that there are changes to bin collections over the 2018/19 festive period.

A lot more rubbish tends to be produced at this time of the year so people are being urged to try and recycle as much as possible.

Blue bags should be used to recycle all your plastic bottles, cans and foil, e.g. mince pie cases, cardboard packaging, wrapping paper and cards. 

Christmas food waste should go in green food bins so that it can be taken for composting.

Glass bottles and jars can be recycled at glass recycling banks; visit the recycling pages at Carmarthenshire.gov.wales for locations.

There are also changes to recycling centre opening times over the Christmas period.

Trostre (Llanelli), Wernddu (Ammanford), Nantycaws (Carmarthen) and Whitland are all closed Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year’s Day.

They are open 8.30am to 12noon on Christmas Eve and New Year's Eve, all other days are as normal. Anyone who recycles their Christmas tree at any of the centres will receive a free bag of Merlin’s Magic Compost.

Collections will take place as follows (all other days are as normal):

Normal day of collection Actual day of collection
Tuesday, December 25 Thursday, December 27
Wednesday, December 26 Friday, December 28
Thursday, December 27 Saturday, December 29
Friday, December 28 Sunday, December 30
Tuesday, January 1 Wednesday, January 2
Wednesday, January 2 Thursday, January 3
Thursday, January 3 Friday, January 4
Friday, January 4 Saturday, January 5